top of page
Online

​

Fishing in Scalpay and the Bays of Harris

​

Lost Placenames on Scalpay

​

Harris Fishing Heritage Project 2007 - Wrecks

​

Registered Boats

 

Scalpay – Historical Sites

 

Scalpay – Map of Historical Sites

 

Stories from Scalpay

 

Hebridean Connections’ Scalpay Page

 

Eachdraidh na Hearadh Facebook Group

 

Scalpay Search Results on "a'spaidsearachd agus a'meòrachadh"

 

Tobar an Dualchais

 

Our entry in Tasglann nan Eilean Siar, from which you can explore

the vast landscape of history throughout the isles.

 

The Ordnance Survey Name Books date from the first mapping of the islands undertaken in the case of Scalpay in the mid 1870s.

These names are in Volume 4 of the Outer Hebrides collection.

 

The Ordnance Survey Name Books date from the first mapping of the islands undertaken in the case of Scalpay in the mid 1870s.

These names are in Volume 5 of the Outer Hebrides collection.

 

This report from the Medical Officer in 1891, five years after the

Crofting Act, give a clear picture of Scalpay and the estates of

North Harris and South Harris.

 

The penultimate entry in this Tax Roll recording the ownership of clocks

and watches in 1797/98 is the only one for Scalpay.

 

The Hydrogaphers of the Admiralty had been active for a while in the

seas around the isles and this one of East Loch Tarbert, from 1857, was undertaken by Captain FWL Thomas who , together with his wife Fanny Thomas, played pivotal roles in Harris for decades.

​

​

​

​

Reproduced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

https://maps.nls.uk/index.html Re-use: CC-BY (NLS)

​

​

​

​

COMUNN EACHDRAIDH SCALPAIGH

(SCALPAY HISTORICAL SOCIETY)

SC048899

©2022 by Comunn Eachdraidh Scalpaigh (Scalpay Historical Society). Proudly created with Wix.com

header web site.png
bottom of page